Walking 50,000 Steps On A Treadmill

Frank Li
8 min readApr 24, 2020

Some facts about a slow walk, and some tips (which mileage may vary) for those who want to give it a go.

On Friday, 17th April, I walked 50,000 steps on a treadmill. If you found yourself thinking of doing that, this post is for you.

Why will anyone walk 50,000 steps, you ask? Well, for me, it was a way to kickstart a walking habit during this quarantine period. I found myself binging on Netflix and averaging less than 1,000 steps a day. I felt that a jolt to the system might help.

Moreover, I had always wanted to walk a hundred thousand (100,000) steps in a day. To me, that is a worthy and exciting personal goal. Walking 50,000 steps is an essential milestone to the eventual 100,000 steps goal.

Besides, taking 50,000 steps will get you past the half-marathon mark, and you would have nearly walked a marathon! I found that exciting.

I have divided this post into five sections, each section about an aspect of the walk. I think this is the best way I can explain how best you can prepare yourself for the challenge ahead:

A. Setup

B. Strategy

C. Concerns

D. Emotions at various stages

E. The aftermath

A. Setup

--

--

Frank Li

Random-topic writer🖋️, pseudonym. Loves reading📚 & follow current events🌍. DM me on Twitter🐦 or email me for longer topics.